Phone: 412-366-2100

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Officer Gregory Walton

Officer Gregory Walton spent 25 years as a Pennsylvania State Police Trooper—including 14 years a Drug Investigator/Vice Officer, during which time he was deputized by the FBI and DEA for investigations in Federal cases. Following that he was promoted to Patrol Supervisor. Before coming to North Allegheny, he served as a School Police Officer with the Butler Area School District.

 

What are you most looking forward to in your new role at North Allegheny?

I look forward to building relationships with the district community—getting to know the students, staff, and parents who make up this organization. I am enthusiastically looking forward to joining and being a part of this team that endeavors to reach the highest standards as a district and community. 

 

Beyond safety, how do you envision your role in supporting the overall well-being of students?

While being on a Safe2Say tip line team I saw how much pressure many students feel in their life. I want to be a resource for the students to contact and come to with any issues that they may have. Students are under a great deal of pressure in many aspects—not just academically, but also in relationships with their peers—and this pressure is often compounded by social media. I hope to be another outlet for students to come to, not just for safety concerns, but for assistance with any issues they may be dealing with. I want them to feel safe and protected in the school, and to be comfortable with having me as a part of their school life.

 

What is your favorite thing about Pittsburgh?

I love to have all the benefits of a big city, but still have that small town feel. I enjoy rooting for the local sports teams, and how people treat each other. I really enjoy all the different ethnic backgrounds that come together to form our community.

 

What are some of your interests or hobbies outside of law enforcement?

I enjoy spending time with my wife and three children (two daughters and a son) whenever possible. I love to grill and will do it in all weather conditions throughout the year. I also like to golf (poorly) and enjoy woodworking and home "handyman" type projects.

x