Educational Links for Students, Parents, and Teachers
(For additional sites, please refer to GOAL Staff webpages.)

The following links and websites are a valuable resource for both students and teachers. They were compiled in conjunction with C-MITES, the Carnegie Mellon Institute for Talented Elementary and Secondary Students, which services academically talented students in grades K-9.
 

Common Search Engines

 

 
Search Engines for Kids
 
Ask Jeeves Kids: http://www.ajkids.com/
Cyber Sleuths Net:
http://cybersleuth-kids.com/


Specialty Search Engines

Alta Vista News (news articles): http://www.altavista.com/news/
Collection of Special Search Engines: http://www.leidenuniv.nl/ub/biv/specials.htm
Google Local (local businesses and services):
http://www.google.com/lochp
MagPortal (magazine articles):
http://www.magportal.com/
News Directory (newspapers and magazines):
http://www.newsdirectory.com/
SearchEdu.com (education and government sites):
http://www.searchedu.com/
Sports Line (sports):
http://www.sportsline.com/info/siteindex
Tutorial Find (tutorials):
http://www.tutorialfind.com/tutorials/


Math Websites

24 Game: http://www.24game.com/
AAA Math (games and practice):
http://www.aaamath.com/
Brainteasers: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/brain_teasers.htm
Cool Math: http://www.coolmath.com/
Curious Math:
http://www.curiousmath.com/
The Geometry Center:
http://www.geom.uiuc.edu/
Highline Advanced Math for Grades 5-7:
http://home.blarg.net/~math/
Hoagies' Math Page: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/math.htm
Interactive Math Activities: http://www.cut-the-knot.org/Curriculum/index.shtml
Math Activities:
http://www.madras.fife.sch.uk/maths/activities.html
Math Challenges:
http://www.mathschallenge.net/
Math Counts (middle school math contest):
http://www.mathcounts.org/
Math Forum:
http://www.mathforum.org/
Math Games: http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/School_Bell/Math/Games_and_Puzzles/
Math Links for Kids:
https://www.cmu.edu/cmites/kids.html#math
Mathematical Olympiads for Elementary and Middle Schools: http://www.moems.org/
Multiplication Fact Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/multiplication.htm
POP Mathematics: http://archives.math.utk.edu/popmath.html
The Puzzle Page:
http://www.jimloy.com/puzz/puzz.htm
Student Resources: http://www.nku.edu/~mathed/p12sr.html
Tangrams: http://mathforum.org/trscavo/tangrams/construct.html
Teacher Resources: http://www.nku.edu/~mathed/tr.html
Toothpick World (toothpick puzzles): http://www.madras.fife.sch.uk/maths/toothpickworld/
Varnelle Moore's Primary Math Activities:
http://mathforum.org/varnelle/index.html


Science and Technology Websites

Answers to Biology Questions: http://askascientist.org/
Bats: http://www.camp150.com/bagley3919/hotlistbats.html
Bill Nye the Science Guy: http://www.billnye.com/
Challenger Center:
http://64.78.10.206/challenger/
Cool Science for Curious Kids:
http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/
Computer Programming Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/programming.htm
Dinosaurs: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/dinosaurs/index.html
Discovery School:
http://school.discovery.com/
Eco Kids:
http://ecokids.earthday.ca/pub/index.cfm
Experiments and Activities: http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/Science_and_Nature/Experiments_and_Activities/
Hoagies' Science Page:
http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/science.htm
How Stuff Works: http://www.howstuffworks.com/index.htm
Insect Lore:
http://www.insectlore.com/
NASA Education Homepage:
http://education.nasa.gov/home/index.html
Natural Science Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/natural_science.htm
Physics Links:
http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/physics.htm
Science Activities Manual: http://www.utm.edu/departments/ed/cece/SAMK8.shtml
Science Links for Kids: https://www.cmu.edu/cmites/kids.html#science
Science Olympiad: http://www.soinc.org/
Sharks:
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/sharks/
Space Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/space.htm
Super Science Fair Projects: http://www.super-science-fair-projects.com/
Virtual Reality Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/virtual_reality.htm
Volcano World: http://www.volcanoworld.org/
Whales:
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/whales/
Windows to the Universe:
http://www.windows.ucar.edu/
The Yuckiest Site on the Internet:
http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/


Language Arts Websites

Alphabet Coloring Pages: http://www.learningplanet.com/parents/alphabet/
Book Websites: http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/School_Bell/Language_Arts/Books/
Books and Authors:
http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/books_authors.htm
Children's Literature Resources:
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/childlit.htm
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature: http://www.dawcl.com/
European Myths and Legends:
http://www.europeoftales.net/
Favorite Poem Project:
http://www.favoritepoem.org/
Giggle Poetry Contest:
http://www.gigglepoetry.com/poetrycontest/contests.html
The Grammar Gorillas (game):
http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/index.html
Guide to Grammar and Writing:
http://www.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/
Guys Read: http://www.guysread.com/
Kids Read:
http://www.kidsreads.com/
Language Arts Links for Kids: https://www.cmu.edu/cmites/kids.html#languagearts
Language Links:
http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/language.htm
Letters about Literature Writing Contest: http://www.loc.gov/loc/cfbook/letters.html
Literary Calendar:
http://english.yasuda-u.ac.jp/lc/
Mythology:
http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/link=/mythology/mythology.html
The Read In:
http://www.readin.org/
Spell-a-Roo (spelling game):
http://www.funbrain.com/spellroo/
Student Treasures Publishing Company:
http://www.studentreasures.com/
Summer Reading Lists:
http://www.education-world.com/summer_reading/
Word Games:
http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/Computers__Games__and_Online/Online_Games/Word_Games/
The Writing Corner:
http://www.writingcorner.com/
Writing Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/writing.htm
Writing Topics: http://thewritesource.com/topics.htm
Young Writer's Clubhouse:
http://www.realkids.com/club.shtml


Social Studies Websites

3-D Flags: http://www.3dflags.com/
Africa Focus:
http://webcat.library.wisc.edu:3200/AfricaFocus/
Ancient Egypt: http://ms.ahsd.org/egypt.htm
Ben (Franklin)"s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids: http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
China on the Net: http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/China/hotlist.html
Cool Antarctica: http://www.coolantarctica.com/
Economics Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/economics.htm
Geography Links:
http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/geography.htm
Great Barrier Reef: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/earthpulse/reef/reef1_flash.html
The History Beat: http://history.searchbeat.com/
The History Channel Classroom: http://www.historychannel.com/classroom/classroom.html
History Essentials:
http://4learning.co.uk/weblogic/essentials/history/index.shtml
History Mystery (game):
http://teacher.scholastic.com/histmyst/index.asp
Hoagies' Social Studies Page: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/social_studies.htm
Museums in the United States: http://www.museumca.org/usa/types.html
National Geographic Kids:
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/index.html
National History Day:
http://www.nationalhistoryday.org/
The New York Times Learning Network:
http://www.nytimes.com/learning/
The Smithsonian Institution:
http://www.si.edu/
Social Studies Links for Kids: https://www.cmu.edu/cmites/kids.html#socialstudies
States Web Games: http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/web_games.htm
The Stock Market Game:
http://www.smgww.org/
Stone Pages (stone structures in Europe):
http://www.stonepages.com/
Time for Kids:
http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/
A Walk through Time (ages 7-9):
http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/walk/
The White House for Kids:
http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/


Multiple-Subject Websites and Reference Materials

Answers to Biology Questions: http://askascientist.org/
Ask an Expert: http://njnie.dl.stevens-tech.edu/askanexpert.html
The Awesome Library: http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
CyberKids (activities):
http://www.cyberkids.com/
Dictionary: http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/reference/dictionary/
Encyclopedia: http://www.encyclopedia.com/
Fact Monster (online reference materials): http://www.factmonster.com/
Fun Brain (games): http://www.funbrain.com/kidscenter.html
Hotlists (links to many sites): http://peoria.k12.il.us/merlins_castle/HotlistIndex.html
Kids' Web Digital Library: http://www.npac.syr.edu/textbook/newkidsweb/
Show Me (online U.K. museums): http://www.show.me.uk/
Thesaurus: http://thesaurus.reference.com/
Word and Logic Puzzles: http://crpuzzles.com/
Zoom School (elementary school activities): http://www.enchantedlearning.com/school/index.shtml


Teacher Websites

Blue Ribbon Learning Sites: http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/
Busy Teachers' Website: http://www.ceismc.gatech.edu/busyt/homepg.html
Classroom Central:
http://tonybrewer.com/teacher_links.htm
Classroom Management Links: http://drwilliampmartin.tripod.com/reallybest.htm
Clip Art Gallery: http://school.discovery.com/clipart/index.html
Education Place:
http://www.eduplace.com/
Educational Hotlist: http://www.fi.edu/tfi/hotlists/
Educational Links Page:
http://lth3.k12.il.us/rhampton/edlinks.html
Educator's Reference Desk (resources and lesson plans): http://www.eduref.org/
Education World:
http://www.education-world.com/
Enchanted Learning:
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html
The File Cabinet (activities):
http://home.att.net/~teaching/filecab.htm
Fill-in-the-Blank Tools: http://drwilliampmartin.tripod.com/reallyusefullist.htm
Forms and Testing Sheets: http://www.mrsperkins.com/testing.htm
Free Stuff for Teachers:
http://www.kalama.com/~zimba/freeforteachers.htm
Homepage Builder:
http://teacher.scholastic.com/homepagebuilder/index.htm
K-8 Resources: http://www.sabine.k12.la.us/vrschool/elemtry.htm
Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators: http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/
Kid Source (articles): http://www.kidsource.com/kidsource/pages/K12.html
The Lesson Factory (lesson plans):
http://www.lessonfactory.com/
Lesson Plan Links: http://www.teacherfeatures.com/exitpage/Education.php?term=Lesson+Plans
Lesson Planner:
http://school.discovery.com/teachingtools/lessonplanner/index.html
Lesson Plans:
http://www.microsoft.com/Education/LessonPlans.aspx
Lesson Plans:
http://lessonplanz.com/
Make Crossword Puzzles:
http://puzzlemaker.com/
Map Outlines:
http://geography.miningco.com/cs/blankoutlinemaps/
Math and Science Resource Page: http://lth3.k12.il.us/rhampton/math-science.html
Quiz Creator: http://school.discovery.com/quizcenter/quizcenter.html
Rubric Builder:
http://rubistar.4teachers.org/index.php
Students Can Learn on Their Own (independent study):
http://users.erols.com/interlac/
Substitute Teacher Resources: http://www.teachervision.fen.com/lesson-plans/lesson-6284.html?detoured=1
Teacher-created Websites: http://www.psd150.org/teacherhl.html#primaryhl
Teaching Tips and Rubrics: http://www.teach-nology.com/
Think Tank (research organizers):
http://thinktank.4teachers.org/index.php3
Tools and Resources:
http://4teachers.org/
Top 101 Websites for Teachers: http://www.assortedstuff.com/top101/
WebQuest Examples:
http://sesd.sk.ca/teacherresource/webquest/webquest.htm
The WebQuest Page:
http://webquest.sdsu.edu/webquest.html
Web Worksheet Wizard: http://wizard.hprtec.org/index.php3
Worksheet Generator:
http://school.discovery.com/teachingtools/worksheetgenerator/