200 Hillvue Lane, Pittsburgh, PA 15237

PHONE: 412-366-2100


Educational Links for Students, Parents, and Teachers
(For additional sites, please refer to each school's GOAL Staff webpages.)
 
The following links and websites are a valuable resource for both students and teachers. 

Common Search Engines

 

 
Search Engines for Kids
 
Cyber Sleuths Net: http://cybersleuth-kids.com/


Specialty Search Engines

MagPortal (magazine articles): http://www.magportal.com/


Math Websites

24 Game: http://www.24game.com/
AAA Math (games and practice): http://www.aaamath.com/
Brainteasers: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/brain_teasers.htm
Cool Math: http://www.coolmath.com/
Curious Math: http://www.curiousmath.com/
The Geometry Center: http://www.geom.uiuc.edu/
Highline Advanced Math for Grades 5-7: http://home.blarg.net/~math/
Hoagies' Math Page: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/math.htm
Interactive Math Activities: http://www.cut-the-knot.org/Curriculum/index.shtml
Math Challenges: http://www.mathschallenge.net/
Math Counts (middle school math contest): http://www.mathcounts.org/
Math Forum: http://www.mathforum.org/
Mathematical Olympiads for Elementary and Middle Schools: http://www.moems.org/
Multiplication Fact Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/multiplication.htm
POP Mathematics: http://archives.math.utk.edu/popmath.html
Tangrams: http://mathforum.org/trscavo/tangrams/construct.html
Varnelle Moore's Primary Math Activities: http://mathforum.org/varnelle/index.html


Science and Technology Websites

Answers to Biology Questions: http://askascientist.org/
Bill Nye the Science Guy: http://www.billnye.com/
Cool Science for Curious Kids: http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience/
Computer Programming Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/programming.htm
Dinosaurs: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/dinosaurs/index.html
Hoagies' Science Page: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/science.htm
How Stuff Works: http://www.howstuffworks.com/index.htm
Insect Lore: http://www.insectlore.com/
Natural Science Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/natural_science.htm
Physics Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/physics.htm
Science Olympiad: http://www.soinc.org/
Sharks: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/sharks/
Space Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/space.htm
Super Science Fair Projects: http://www.super-science-fair-projects.com/
Virtual Reality Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/virtual_reality.htm
Volcano World: http://www.volcanoworld.org/
Whales: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/whales/
Windows to the Universe: http://www.windows.ucar.edu/
The Yuckiest Site on the Internet: http://yucky.kids.discovery.com/


Language Arts Websites

Books and Authors: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/books_authors.htm
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature: http://www.dawcl.com/
European Myths and Legends: http://www.europeoftales.net/
Favorite Poem Project: http://www.favoritepoem.org/
The Grammar Gorillas (game): http://www.funbrain.com/grammar/index.html
Guide to Grammar and Writing: http://www.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/
Guys Read: http://www.guysread.com/
Kids Read: http://www.kidsreads.com/
Language Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/language.htm
Letters about Literature Writing Contest: http://www.loc.gov/loc/cfbook/letters.html
Mythology: http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/link=/mythology/mythology.html
The Read In: http://www.readin.org/
Spell-a-Roo (spelling game): http://www.funbrain.com/spellroo/
Student Treasures Publishing Company: http://www.studentreasures.com/
Summer Reading Lists: http://www.education-world.com/summer_reading/
The Writing Corner: http://www.writingcorner.com/
Writing Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/writing.htm


 
Social Studies Websites

Ben (Franklin)"s Guide to U.S. Government for Kids: http://bensguide.gpo.gov/
Cool Antarctica: http://www.coolantarctica.com/
Economics Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/economics.htm
Geography Links: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/geography.htm
The History Beat: http://history.searchbeat.com/
History Mystery (game): http://teacher.scholastic.com/histmyst/index.asp
Hoagies' Social Studies Page: http://www.hoagiesgifted.org/social_studies.htm
National Geographic Kids: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/kids/index.html
National History Day: http://www.nationalhistoryday.org/
The New York Times Learning Network: http://www.nytimes.com/learning/

The Smithsonian Institution: http://www.si.edu/ 
The Stock Market Game: http://www.smgww.org/
Stone Pages (stone structures in Europe): http://www.stonepages.com/
A Walk through Time (ages 7-9): http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/walk/


Multiple-Subject Websites and Reference Materials

Answers to Biology Questions: http://askascientist.org/
The Awesome Library: http://www.awesomelibrary.org/
CyberKids (activities): http://www.cyberkids.com/
Encyclopedia: http://www.encyclopedia.com/
Fact Monster (online reference materials): http://www.factmonster.com/
Fun Brain (games): http://www.funbrain.com/kidscenter.html
Show Me (online U.K. museums): http://www.show.me.uk/
Thesaurus: http://thesaurus.reference.com/
Word and Logic Puzzles: http://crpuzzles.com/
Zoom School (elementary school activities): http://www.enchantedlearning.com/school/index.shtml


Teacher Websites

Education Place: http://www.eduplace.com/
Educator's Reference Desk (resources and lesson plans): http://www.eduref.org/
Education World: http://www.education-world.com/
Enchanted Learning: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html
Forms and Testing Sheets: http://www.mrsperkins.com/testing.htm
Kid Source (articles): http://www.kidsource.com/kidsource/pages/K12.html
Lesson Plans: http://lessonplanz.com/
Make Crossword Puzzles: http://puzzlemaker.com/
Rubric Builder: http://rubistar.4teachers.org/index.php
Substitute Teacher Resources: http://www.teachervision.fen.com/lesson-plans/lesson-6284.html?detoured=1
Teaching Tips and Rubrics: http://www.teach-nology.com/
Think Tank (research organizers): http://thinktank.4teachers.org/index.php3

CLOSE