• Caldecott Medal


         The Caldecott Medal was designed by Rene Paul Chambellan in 1937. The picture on the front of the medal is from Randolph Caldecott's illustrations for The Diverting Story of John Gilpin. It shows John Gilpin on his race from London to Ware.  Click here to see more pictures from this story.

         The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year by the American Library Association. It is given to the artist (illustrator) of the best American picture book published that year. It was named in honor of Randolph Caldecott who was an illustrator. He made the very FIRST picture books.    

    silver The book that wins the Caldecott Award is given a gold medal. Also, there are usually 3 or 4 honor books. The honor medal is silver.


    Click here for a list of Caldecott Winners 

Last Modified on July 28, 2016